the decap gar.

 

Went out looking for fossils today, and I realized what little I know about fossil hunting.   I kind of had to take a stab at where to look.  I foind a few shark’s teeth, nothing noteworthy.

Fossil hunting might be a good meetup group to join.  I was drawn to this particular location on Lake Lewisville because some amatuer fossil hunters uncovered a plesiosaur (sp?) and an ancient crocodile that changed some of the prevailing views of those animals and their place in evolution.  All right here, in my backyard.  Amazing stuff.

Anyway, these heads were all over the place.  Truly an animal that evolution somehow managed to avoid.

Leave a Reply

