and then it hit me.

I was walking around on a photowalk this afternoon in the great Fair Park.  There is nothing like this place in the world.  It is a rare surviving example of art deco architecture that was used for a world’s fair.  Not just any world’s fair, but a fair that celebrated the 100th birthday of Texas. The architecture and sculptures were from a time when the nation was moving from an agrarian economy to an industrial based economy.  All eyes were focused on the future, and on technology. 

And it’s in a city that loves to tear down buildings.  It was so close to meeting the wrecking ball.

I was thinking how much I take away from this place, but I never give back.  I need to join Friends of Fair Park.  I need to become involved in volunteering and helping to make this place better.  It is on the to do list.

Leave a Reply

