a defining moment…..

when you are touring a locale, and something spontaneous and unique to the area occurs, you soak it up and savor the moment.

I was a block lakeside to the cathedral, and I heard the thundering sound of bass drums coming from Jackson Square.  This was the area where street performers gathered, but this was ten times as loud, and something I had never heard in the quarter before.  I hurried over just in time to see a marching band, comprised of junior-high aged kids, taking off down the street.  A marvelous drum line, and a great horn section.    As soon as I saw them , I knew I was witnessing something remarkable. These kids had talent.  They had character.  They had soul.

Leave a Reply

