how cool is my neighborhood?

I am working on a small remodel job about five blocks south of my house, one street over.  I step up on the porch, turn to my left, and this is what I see.  The front porches on the houses align, all the way down the street.  What you see here is the first five or six porches.  At the turn of the century, porches were built like this to encourage active discussion among neighbors.  What a great idea.  On my street, it kind of works like this, but there have been so many renovations and additions to the houses over the years that  the flow has been disrupted.  But not in this pic from Munger Place, which I believe is the first historic district in Dallas.

Leave a Reply

